Where We Work

RDT manages a comprehensive development programme in the state of Andhra Pradesh

For the past 40-plus years, RDT has been working unwearyingly to help extremely poor people live a dignified life and cover their basic needs.

The organisation’s Indian headquarters are located in Anantapur District. For the past 40-plus years, this has been our area of activity. We recently expanded our operations into new areas of Andhra Pradesh. Our goal is for our projects to help more people living in extreme poverty live a dignified life and cover their basic needs.



Kurnool is the gateway to the Rayalaseema Region and the third largest district in the state of Andhra Pradesh. It has a surface area of 17.658 sq km and a population density of 229 people per sq km.

According to the 2011 Census, the district’s total population is 4.046.601, 2.040.101 males and 2.006.500 females. The district’s literacy rate is 61.13%, and there is a marked difference between male literacy (71.36%) and female literacy


Ananthapur is the Southernmost district of the Rayalaseema region, located to the west of the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh. This district is located in the rain-shadow region of Andhra Pradesh and receives an average annual rainfall of 522 mm, the second lowest in India. It is one of the poorest districts in the country. Recurring droughts are a common phenomenon in this district, which was one of the thirty-one districts identified by the Government of India as being prone to agriculture related suicides in 2006. It is also one of the 17 districts identified as centers for human trafficking in A.P.


RDT has set up its base in Srisailam, with regional headquarters in Dornala, to work with around 8.419 Chenchu families from 208 villages and 25 Revenue Mandals in four operational areas and 3 districts, namely Kurnool, Mahabubnagar, and Prakasam, in Andhra Pradesh. The Chenchu Tribes are one of the primitive aboriginal tribes inhabiting the Nallamala Hills in the Kurnool, Prakasam, Guntur, Mahabubnagar, and Nalgonda Districts of Andhra Pradesh